My Own Mallet

Work and the world have caught up with me in a big way, and haven’t left much time for anything else. When I’ve thought about posting (or even reading) something, I’ve realized that the same time could be spent woodworking, and have opted for the latter.

And there hasn’t been a lot of time for that.

There has though been enough for me to finish making myself a mallet, out of a piece of Osage Orange firewood and some Ash. Here’s a photo gallery, with the story in the captions.

This entry was posted in Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Own Mallet

  1. Greg Merritt says:

    The mallet turned out quite nice. I especially like that you remade the handle.

    I understand how life gets in the way sometimes. Hopefully everything smooths out for you and you can get some shop time. How is the new shop coming along?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wesley Beal says:

      Thanks. The Ash I have available to work with right now doesn’t split very well, and is often very near to small in dimension to get the handle I needed for this project. The splitting issues are due to the grain going all over the place, which was what happened with that first handle. I was using the drawknife, the grain dived down, and a great big chunk was taken out, leaving it too narrow, well – it worked, but narrower than I wanted at the handle part.

      Between work and winter, not much has been happening on the shop front. Winter has had me in a mode where there are things that I will concern myself with during winter, and everything else. The way things are going at work, I worry there will also be things I concern myself with now, and things I concern myself with after the elections. But we’ll see.

      Like

    • Wesley Beal says:

      Thank you! I’m pleased with it. There are some flaws in the mallet head – where there are growth or drying checks that may turn into cracks that have the thing break apart on me someday. I can’t tell for sure yet. If they do, this was sort of purposefully made from the “not-best-piece-of-firewood.” I figured it would be a learning process, and didn’t want to ruin the best piece in the course of my education.

      Like

Leave a Reply

