The Seated Workbench

Last time I mentioned I was working on a project. This is it. A small workbench, designed to be worked at while sitting.

What?!? A sit-down workbench?!?

Why yes, I am that lazy.

More to the point, this small bench (it measures just 9 1/4″ wide by 49 3/4″ long) is designed to be in my home office, readily accessible while I’m in front of my computer.

My job gets very slow around the holidays. Don’t be too jealous – my work load is governed by the political campaign cycle, and as the months progress this year I’m going to become insanely busy.

When there are times spent staring at the computer screens, waiting for work to come my way, I’ve been fiddling around with projects. I decided I wanted a small workbench that I could do some woodwork at.

This is especially a need as I don’t know when I’ll get my workshop complete. Getting the space heated is the current challenge. A heater has been ordered, but we’ve still got a lot to do.

When I say I “designed” this bench, that’s maybe too grand a word. I winged it.

I knew I wanted something that would fit in these dimensions, and could be made from scrap we have around. No materials have been purchased to put this thing together. It’s all been done with leftover construction grade scrap.

I got to thinking that the legs could be angled, and if I used a dovetail-ish shaped mortise and tenon, I’d be able to saw, rather than chop, the mortises.

From there, the project just sort of evolved as I went. It still is, actually.

I’ve been thinking about adding a low shelf. Also I might add a long strip along the back, widening the bench about 2 1/4″, so it comes flush with the wall. I could chop mortise holes in that strip for more tool storage, too. I’ve also been thinking about adding a cross piece out of 2×4 that will run lengthwise between the two legs, 7 1/2″ below the bench top. The idea is that I might be able to use it as a sort of horizontal dead-man, and clamp boards upright with it using holdfasts.

Time will tell which ideas I pursue and which I do not.

I’m going to leave this post here for now. I’ve been thinking about writing some about the process, learning, and enjoying the hobby – using this project as an example. That will be a post for another day.

This entry was posted in Projects, Work Shop and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Seated Workbench

  1. Greg Merritt says:

    So now standing up to woodwork is too much effort? LOL
    I like the setup Wesley. Sort of an oversized sawbench with bells and whistles Enjoy it.
    Hey…how are you liking your lamp? Any complaints?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wesley Beal says:

      We made sawbenches at Mike’s sharpening class, and I’ve had mine up here in the office with me since. I’d been day-dreaming about having some woodworking options in the office. It was the sawbench, coupled with George Crawford’s earlier work tricking out a sawbench he made, that was the catalyst for pushing forward.

      The lamp is working very well for me so far. The light helps more than anything else. The magnifier works too though. Takes a minimal amount of getting used to looking through a magnifying glass, but when you need it, it makes a world of difference.

      While I wouldn’t want to endorse the specific product yet – still plenty of time for it to show it’s flaws – I think it’s going to work out. Seems sturdy enough. This is the one I bought:

      http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00UW2IRJ2

      Like

  2. billlattpa says:

    Now you need to come up with a “lounge-bench”, with a cup holder of course for your tropical drink. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

