A Saw with a Depth-Stop

In a shocking change of pace, there’s actual woodworking being done today, by me. Will – with a little luck and time – post an update about this project real soon.

One thing I needed to do was make 4 stopped-cuts of equal depth on some legs, leaving 1″ of material on each. While I could of done it free hand and didn’t want to give up the time, I paused long enough to re-assemble my Stanley mitre-box, which was all taken apart as I’ve been involved in cleaning it up.

It simply was the perfect tool for the job, and I couldn’t resist. Once re-assembled, it was super easy to set the angle and adjust the depth stops to leave 1″ of wood uncut. I’m going to really like having this thing in my shop.

MSDSFirst

MSDSSecond

MSDSThird

This entry was posted in Projects, Saws, Tools and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Saw with a Depth-Stop

  1. That is great – In all the years I have had my mitre saw I have only ever used it to cut through cuts! BTW – nice job on cleaning up the tool!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Greg Merritt says:

    We had one of these in my Junior High shop class. I remember being fascinated by it back then. There were so many possibilities. I’ll bet you will find more uses than you ever imagined.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

