Finding a Stanley No. 2358 Miter Box

PoultryShed

Imagine walking into an outbuilding to see what’s inside. There haven’t been windows or a door on the building for some unknown length of time. Inside, rodents scramble for cover underneath old rolled up carpets, half eroded cardboard boxes, empty cans of all shapes, and other junk. It’s naturally quite dirty. More so since this building was once a poultry house, and always had a dirt floor.

The sun comes through where a window once was, and on a shelf about 4 feet off the floor, in between more old coffee cans full of nails, bolts, and mud dauber nests, sits a Miter Box. Someone at some point needed to move things out of the house or somewhere, carried this out to the unused poultry house, placed this on that shelf where it’s sat for however many years.

That happened to me back in August, when I ventured into the outbuilding shown above. It’s quite a good feeling. For days afterword, life was good. Back sometime BC (Before Camera) I cleaned most of the dirt, crud, and rust off of it. Restoring it is my next project.

StanleyNo2358

No need to try to figure out what make this is: Stanley kindly marked it clearly.

StanleyPlate

Really, restoration isn’t absolutely necessary. It works. As is. Right now. I’ll do my best though to make it look like it might be new. I think near all the parts are here. I’ve found one place where a screw is missing. I’ll may well discover something else that’s missing along the way.

MiterBoxParts

I’ve seen pictures of old miter boxes that have a brace running between the top two posts, but I don’t think this one ever had that. There’s no place where one would attach that I can see.

Given my recent efforts, I’ll start this project out working over the saw. It’s a Disston. The medallion is 13/16″ wide. Looking at the image on the medallion, and also the profile, my guess is that the saw was manufactured between 1940 and 1947.

Medallion
MedallionProfile

The saw is marked in two places. There’s an etch on the plate, and it’s engraved on the back.

SawBladeEtch
SawBackMark

The blade looks to have 10 or 11 points per inch.

tpi

The handle is held to the blade in three places. Here’s some pictures of the handle:

HandleFront
HandleBack
HandleTop

It’s quite a large saw. Heavy, and long. It’s also in nice shape, and I think it’ll clean up in a matter of minutes.

Length1
Length2

After that I’ll tackle another part, as time permits, until I’m done. I’m thinking about giving this miter box a new paint job, too. Any information anyone has on this model of miter saw would be much appreciated. I don’t think they’re near as well documented as the Langdon boxes are. I’m interested in learning about all the parts, and how they’re used. I hope to find occasion to use this a whole heck of a lot when I get my workshop up and in order.

This entry was posted in Saws, Tools and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Finding a Stanley No. 2358 Miter Box

  1. Wes, if you find a Stanley No. 1 smoothing plane – DO NOT clean it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wb8nbs says:

    That thing across the top isn’t a brace, it’s a linkage so both posts release the saw from it’s locked up position at the same time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wesley Beal says:

      Locked up position? There are what I believe to be depth stops on the side of the two posts. Is there supposed to be another way the saw is locked/held up above the surface? Other than just lifting it?

      Like

      • gblogswild says:

        I can’t offer anything concrete as far as the Stanley boxen go, but my early-mid 40’s Langdon has a pair of spring-loaded screws in the vertical posts that click into a groove on the posts to lock it in the “up” position. One on each. I suppose this is to keep the saw out of the way while loading a new workpiece… at least that’s what I’ll use it for, once I get it cleaned up.

        Great find, by the way – and that thing is as clean as I’d bother with!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. jbeal32014 says:

    You shouldn’t repaint it. That will, if not destroy, greatly diminish its value.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kenneth christensen says:

    I have asaw and miter pox no 2358 in exec cond

    Like

Leave a Reply

