Help Identifying a Sandvik Crosscut Saw

Shown is a Sandvik 20″ crosscut, with 10 points-per-inch (or 9 teeth-per-inch; learned that saws are marked with their point count, rather than teeth count).

There was some etching on this one, but I’ve lost it. I only very lightly sanded the plate where the etch was with 320 grit paper, but I can’t find it again for the life of me. I hope to get some blueing material and give that a shot on this saw and my others.

I’ve read that the steel on these saws is very good. This company went budget on their handles (though the dragon design is very cool).

If I could see the etching, I believe it would tell me what number this saw is. Just three holes in the handle, and no medallion.

Any one out there know about Sandviks and able to help?

This entry was posted in Saws, Tools. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Help Identifying a Sandvik Crosscut Saw

  1. Ty Stange says:

    Kim Malmberg has a lot of info on Swedish tools here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/finnberg68/albums/with/72157635645619275
    Looks quite similar to the 271

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wesley Beal says:

      Thanks – that is similar. It’s 4 inches longer, and the tote has 4, rather than 3 holes. The general layout/orientation is very similar though. I wish I knew how Sandvik chose their numbers, and a list of all numbers they assigned. Maybe that would point me toward looking for a Sandvik #265 or #282 or something….

      Like

Leave a Reply

