Counterfeit Atkins 22″ Cross-Cut

AtkinsCrossCut

AtkinsMedallion

Once I removed the tote, I saw that this saw plate had been punched one more time than necessary, and it dawned on me why I could find no hint of any etching on the plate. I don’t have any reason to suspect foul play; I imagine there was a saw tote in need of a saw plate, and these two were joined (actually, I don’t know that the tote is off of an Atkins saw; perhaps they just had the medallion, nuts, and screws).

AtkinsFake

Here’s what the black crud left behind after soaking something in Evapo-rust looks like:

BlackCrud

A couple before images of the saw tote:

Tote1

Tote2

How exactly is TPI supposed to be measured? When I count the teeth between the gullets that fit within 1″, I count 9. The mark on this saw says 10.

TPI

For the sawyer with sensitive hands, I went a little crazy on this one, and sanded it up to 1500 grit.

ToteSanded

All cleaned up:

AtkinsCleaned

AtkinsCleaned2

This entry was posted in Saws, Tools. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Counterfeit Atkins 22″ Cross-Cut

  1. My guess is that it is an original plate and handle – that in the process of being stamped was inserted a little too soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. billlattpa says:

    Either way it looks like a good saw. The handle turned out great; was it tough getting the inside cleaned up? Great minds must think alike, because I have a Disston I am fooling with at the moment.
    Bill

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wesley Beal says:

      Nope, wasn’t hard to sand the inside. Harder than the surface, of course, but not difficult. It’s enjoyable making these old tools look good again. Really wish I had photos of what each looked like when I found it. Absolutely covered in rust, each and every one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

