Block Plane of an unknown make

Here’s another tool that was found in an outbuilding, half buried in dirt on the floor. Can you identify this block plane? I think it might be a Winchester No. 3086, but I’m not sure. It measures 7″ long and 1 7/8″ wide.

Plane

Making identification more difficult, I found two different plane blades from two different manufacturer’s with it:

PlaneBladesFront

PlaneBladesBack

One blade is marked “Winchester TRADE MARK No 3086”, and it has a “B” stamped on the back. The other I can’t make much out. There are four lines of text:

L???NEYS
PATENT
AUG 6 ?7
AUG. 31:68 EXD.

On the underside of the lever cap there’s a “5” and an “L” stamped respectively above and below the hole for the screw:

LeverCapUnderside

On the inside of the adjustable mouth are two numbers, one on each side: “306” and “316”:

MouthUnderside

The adjusting knob is patterned as shown:

PlaneKnob

The lever for tightening the lever cap is missing. When I found this I was amused to fine several old beer-can pull-rings stacked up underneath the plane blade in an effort to keep it tight. If I can replace that cap (or just get a shorter bolt to hold the lever cap on) it could be a decent user.

Here it is, full disassembled. I like to know what my tools are, so any help would be appreciated!

PlaneParts

This entry was posted in Planes, Tools. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Block Plane of an unknown make

  1. Looks like one of my Craftsman block planes which were made by Sargent Tool Co. Blades were often used up and people bought whatever replacement blade that was available at the local hardware store.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. gblogswild says:

    Sargent. The cam ring on the front knob for the adjustable throat plate is a dead giveaway, and if that weren’t enough, the “306” and “316” are the Sargent model numbers it was originally cast for. Winchester did enter the hardware business, and Sargent was well-known for making trade planes (and other tools) for any that would order them.

    MVFlaim above could also be correct that it was a replacement iron, but I’m personally leaning toward original.

    In either case, it’s in great shape for havng been found half-buried in dirt! Sharpen that iron up and use it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wesley Beal says:

      So with 5 minutes spent researching, it looks like a type 607 to me. Does that sound right to you?

      I’d love to be able to determine likely manufacture date, whether it was a Winchester brand or anything else.

      Besides the fact that I just like to know, that also would allow me to fill out some biographical info on the previous owner, my wife’s great Uncle.

      Like

Leave a Reply

