Are you receiving me?

I haven’t seen The Martian yet, but I imagine there’s a good stretch of the show where Matt Damon tries to figure out how to let people know he’s still alive.

Maybe when I see it I’ll get some good ideas to try on anyone out there wondering what became of this blog.

I have moved to rural Minnesota, halfway between the Twin Cities and Fargo.

We’re on a small farm with a number of outbuildings full of the expected combination of trash, junk, and treasures.

There’s also some beautiful Ash, Oak, and Maple trees around the place.

What doesn’t exist yet is a workshop. My tools are on the front porch, crowded among remodeling supplies, an old Maytag electric Washer, and a dual fuel (propane and wood) kitchen stove.

All the cameras that work have gone missing, or I’d be sharing photos of some of the old tools I’ve found and started to clean up.

My hope is that we can get a new pole-barn up before Winter that I will use a small part of for my shop.

Winter comes early in these parts, so I don’t know yet if this will happen in time.

Once space is created, the first project will be a new workbench. I plan to build a Nicholson, ala Mike Siemsen’s The Naked Woodworker.

Stay tuned….

This entry was posted in Non-Germane. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Are you receiving me?

  1. Welcome back to Earth!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wb8nbs says:

    You should cut those ash trees while they’re still alive.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wesley Beal says:

      It’s a real concern. Currently, we don’t have the Emerald Ash Borer in our parts. On the linked map, you can see areas where the borer has arrived outlined in red. I’m near Alexandria, near 94 to the Northwest of Minneapolis.

      I need to do more research to find out how quickly the EAB can spread.

      I’ve got several mature Ash trees that, while I’d hate to not get to see them anymore in the yard, I’d want to cut down as soon as I thought the EAB was heading our direction.

      There’s plenty of less mature trees as well that I’d take down if we had to. They aren’t as big a loss as mature ones, so might not be as quick to do so.

      http://gis.mda.state.mn.us/eab/

      Like

Leave a Reply

