Thinking about Woodworking

For my side table I’ve determined that the Walnut I have isn’t enough to complete the project, so I’ll need to procure some more before making progress on it.

That’s probably just as well. I live in the Boston metro area, and this winter has been brutal. By the time I’ve shoveled, dug the car out, or even just walked to and from the subway, a lot of my woodworking energy has vanished.

Long rip cuts are never appealing to me, but even less these past few weeks, so lately I’ve been more of a “woodthinker” than a “woodworker.”

This morning I tried to get some photos of the Maple I want to use for the table top. I believe it is slightly spalted. It has some dark specks in it, it’s really dark for Maple, with lots of swirls, sort of resembling flames.

I don’t think the photos do it justice – the colors seem too washed out – but here it is.

Now for me it’s back to bracing for this weekend’s storm, and digging out enough to be ready for the one scheduled to arrive on Wednesday.

This entry was posted in Projects, Wood & Lumber and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thinking about Woodworking

  1. billlattpa says:

    Being a wood thinker can be a good thing. I’ve built many projects in my head long before picking up a tool. I think it really helps.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

