Narrow Side Table Plans

I think the next piece I build will be a narrow side table to go next to our sofa.

I have some Maple that’s a bit spalted, and dark to the point that it looks a lot like Cherry (until you pick the board up).

I’d like to use it for the top and Walnut for the legs. The piece of Walnut I have right now isn’t quite wide enough, so I’ll need to glue two pieces up to get the right width. If I’m doing that already, why not add a center strip about an inch wide of the Maple? And if I’m doing that for the legs, well then I think I should add a 1″ center strip of Walnut to the top.

I want to keep the joinery very simple on this. Bridal joints for the top, and tusk tenons for the center brace.

SketchUp frustrates me, so my pieces aren’t all lined up just right, and I ain’t even going to try to draw the tusks for the tusk tenons right now, but here’s an idea:

SideTable

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

