Beading Beginnings

BeadingBeginnings2

Inspired by Bill over at The Slightly Confused Woodworker, this morning I put some sheet abrasive on a piece of dowel, did my best to sharpen my beading plane up, and gave it a try on a piece of scrap Cherry.

I found the plane strange to work. At first it’s clearly cutting a narrow groove, then it doesn’t seem to do much of anything for a while, and finally about the time I think I haven’t got the blade adjusted right or something else is wrong, the curve starts to cut.

Maybe when it starts cutting the outside of the curve it’s cutting so little material it doesn’t feel like I’m doing anything?

Regardless I like the result. It will take some time to figure out how to get the blade adjusted just right. Plenty left to learn.

BeadingBeginnings1

This entry was posted in Planes, Planing, Tools and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Beading Beginnings

  1. snwoodwork says:

    Moulding planes are the coolest. I just wish they weren’t so expensive or hard to find.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wesley Beal says:

      I can’t recall exactly, but I think I paid $40 or $60 for this and a hollow at an antique store on Cape Cod. I thought I’d over paid for them then, but I haven’t tried searching on eBay. Mine were being sold as “antique stuff to leave around your house and look cool.”

      Like

  2. snwoodwork says:

    I’ve been looking at square ovolos lately. I can only get them online so I have to be careful. I’ve bought a 3/4″ round off eBay & did okay. But the complex ones I slightly more hesitant about.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wesley Beal says:

      I haven’t gotten into using mouldings yet, but I’m lucky in that I have a Stanley 45 with a full set of blades. I’m sure the dedicated moulding planes would work better, but I enjoy making the Stanley 45 work the way it’s supposed to.

      Like

      • snwoodwork says:

        The 45 looks great, I just haven’t found one that was complete & didn’t cost more than I wanted to pay. I’m just getting moulding planes as dictated by projects. The side bead was for the DTC & the six board chest has 2 different sized ovolos. I’m fairly utilitarian as far as tools go but I could see spending some cash on moulding planes.

        Liked by 1 person

      • wb8nbs says:

        You’re lucky to have that wooden plane. I have a 45 also and it makes a really fat quirk on the inside of the bead because the quirk has to be at least as wide as the skate. I don’t like the way the bead looks.

        Like

  3. Jeff Branch says:

    I agree with snwoodwork – molding planes are the bomb. I can’t think of anymore cool than running molding with a hand plane. Glad your beading plane is cooperating. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

