Moxon Vise Work, Sunday morning

Just waiting on the glue to dry now.

I had to make a decision about the rear brace. Both Benchcrafted and Chris Schwarz offer designs with a rear brace shorter than the overall vise. I’ve wondered though whether it wouldn’t be nice to have the brace extend out a couple inches longer than the body of the vise to make clamping to the bench top easier.

There’s an example from Lie-Nielsen that Chris reviews that skips the rear brace altogether but does something similar to what I was thinking.

Ultimately I decided to stick with a short brace.

This is the board I've used for the brace. There was a "slight" bow in it I need to work on first.

This is the board I’ve used for the brace. There was a “slight” bow in it I need to work on first.

I'm going to build a nice planing stop at some point, really I am. Just as soon as this one gives out.

I’m going to build a nice planing stop at some point, really I am. Just as soon as this one gives out.

With the glue applied and the brace clamped down, just got to make holes in this suede and glue it to the front jaw. Drilling out the holes in that suede without the benefit of a Forstner bit was a trick too, let me tell you.

With the glue applied and the brace clamped down, just got to make holes in this suede and glue to it the front jaw. Drilling out the holes in that suede without the benefit of a Forstner bit was a trick too, let me tell you.


Update, 5 hours later: “I will just leave it be, I will just leave it be. I won’t go unclamp and assemble it.” I want to check out how the vise works, but that rear brace needs to be solid and I should let it stay put overnight. Of course, the glue is set up by now, so I could maybe assemble it all and just not clamp the rear brace down on anything until tomorrow….

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

